One of four

6 Oct

 

  

 

Are you sitting comfortably?  Then we will begin…

 

 

 

 Back at the start of September Mr Sparkles and I went on a camping trip to Wales.  Where we came across the CRAFT recycling shop in Aberystwyth and purchased 4 lovely but slightly sad dining chairs!

Mmmm old pleather!

Mmmm old pleather!

So being that cracked poo brown pleather just isn’t going to go with our new decor I decided to re-upholster the seats!  I can remember helping my mum do her diningroom chairs when I was about 10 so it’s can’t be that hard!?!?

 

On a trip to Ikea a few weeks ago we picked out 2 different materials to use to cover the chairs.  I lost my striped material as someone thought it looked like old man’s pyjamas!  It doesn’t!  But we chose these in the end:

 

 

 

 

So off on the internet I went to see where to get some new padding – CONFUSION ENGULFED ME!  Silly me thought that it would be obvious, it wasn’t 😦

 

So I ‘Phoned a Friend’ or as it’s otherwise known posted a message begging for help on the MISI Forum!   A HUGE THANK YOU to Mo of  Mornie G Jewellery and Belinda of Pretty Little Things for their excellent advice.

 

So armed with my shopping list I set out to find a shop that stocked all I needed.  Low and behold Dunelm Mill in Weston-Super-Mare came up as the ideal shopping emporium for this adventure!

 

Not wanting to go all the way to W-S-M and the store there be tiny I yet again seeked the knowledge of fellow MISIers on the MISI Forum.  Sadly, mixed reviews but i decided to risk it.  I’m an adventurous soul at heart 🙂

 

Sunday afternoon armed with my printed out Google Map (sadly the dead SatNav still hasn’t been replaced) I set out in a Weston type direction.  Then remembered that the Portway (one of the main route out of Bristol on to the M5) was shut!  Disaster! My map was now useless!  But I went for it anyway!  Following the signs for Weston down through a million oddly named villages I eventually got to W-S-M and without getting too lost, I found it!

 
Like a great grey & green beacon in the wilderness

Like a great grey & green beacon in the wilderness

I was there for 2 hours!  Luckily I knew I would be and had left Mr Sparkles at home watching football 😉  So I ended up buying:

  • 2 x foam block (£4.50 for a bit 100cm x 56cm x 3cm )
  • 1m of wadding (£1.99 for 137cm Width / 200g weight)
  • 3 bits of Christmas material (£3.99 / meter)
  • 2 bits of polycotton (there is a plan for this to be revealed!)
  • 4 mirrored candle plates (99p each)
  • a wire mannequin (£7.99 to be used on my stall at the MISI event)
  • and a plastic box to keep it all in when I got home!

 

Note to MISI Forum bods:  well worth a visit!  I could have spent a lot more but I had filled my little basket!  But fear not I have a shopping list prepared for my second visit already 🙂

 

So last night after losing the will to live doing the weekly shop I set to on one of the 4 chairs.  And here is the final result:

One of Four

One of Four

 

Not bad for a first attempt!  My lovely shiney new staple gun was a life saver.  So I’ve cut out all the foam, wadding and material for the other 3 which I hope to do tonight.

 

But then that might all change as we are off to see our Solicitor to sign stuff for our new house which will hopefully also involve a completion date!!!! 

 

KEEP YOUR FINGERS, TOES & ANYTHING ELSE CROSSED!!!!

2 Responses to “One of four”

  1. Shelby Morgan 6 October 2009 at 11:38 am #

    That’s real nice work and you ended up with a great addition to your house.

  2. Hennie 6 October 2009 at 1:58 pm #

    Gotta love those Misi folks.
    Well done, it looks ace.

Leave a Reply

